Disc Golf

Last night, Craig and I knew we couldn’t stay inside and pass up the beautiful, sunny weather.

IMG_8968

Craig decided he wanted to play disc golf–it is his favorite!


IMG_8955

I have to admit it isn’t something I would necessarily choose to do. You see, the first time I played, I was horrible! Absolutely horrible! My disc barely went two feet, and it always ended up in the opposite direction of where I wanted it to go. Needless to say, this did not jive well with my perfectionism, and I’ve always kind of had a sour attitude about playing.


IMG_8956

But I know how much Craig loves the sport, so we went to Hanshew Middle School to play. Plus, I couldn’t pass up the chance to enjoy the sunshine–even if I did have to wear a sweatshirt and jacket.


IMG_8958

In disc golf, the goal is to throw your disc into the basket in the least number of throws.

IMG_8961

You can throw the disc 3 different ways:

backhand (The back part of your hand is leading.),

IMG_8954

forehand (The front part of your hand–palm–is leading.),

IMG_8966

or a hammer throw.


IMG_8965

I started out doing really well! At one point in time, I was even ahead of Craig.

IMG_8962

But then I got my disc stuck in the tree.


IMG_8969

Craig had a rusty start. . . .

IMG_8963

but he ended up winning in the end.

IMG_8964

Breakfast

This morning, I made Craig’s favorite breakfast in honor of our anniversary: Greek Yogurt Pancakes.

DSC_0004

I wasn’t in the mood for pancakes, so I enjoyed a bowl of Quaker Oatmeal Squares with some banana slices and milk.


DSC_0001

It was a good thing we enjoyed the nice weather last night because it is raining today.

For my run this morning, I made sure to put my hat on to keep the rain off my face. I can’t believe what a difference a hat makes when running in the rain!


IMG_8981

Distance: 5 miles

Time: 44 minutes

I did another easy run today. Nothing to complain about, which is always a good thing!

I’m off to the gym for a light weight lifting session. This will be my last week of weight lifting before the marathon next week.

6 responses to “Disc Golf

  1. I have been following your blog for a little while and it has been so fun! I am new to running and blogging about it. Reading about your training and running has helped me so much. Thanks for sharing your passion. I even learned how to take my first ice bath from you….haha! My husband and I would love to visit Alaska some day. It looks like a beautiful place. My new blog is the worthofmysole.blogspot.com. Just in case!!!

    Thanks again for sharing your life!

  2. I’m not very good at disc golf but something about it always makes me want to play. It takes me a while to play a round and I just can’t play with any “professionals.” Cutting down on glare helps me a lot, so polarized aviator sunglasses are my secret weapon.

Leave a Reply

