Freedom Run

I had no intentions of running a race today, but I did! πŸ™‚

DSC_0238

Yesterday evening, my friend, Charity, Facebooked me to see if I was running the 5-Mile Waseca Lakefest – Freedom Run today, sponsored by the Waseca Lakes Association.

I said I hadn’t planned on it because I didn’t want to do it by myself. (My sister couldn’t get away from camp.) However, when Charity said she was going to do it, I was all on board!


DSC_0233

Since I hadn’t pre-registered, I got there early to register and pick up my bib. Can’t beat $5 for a race! (It was $15 if you wanted the t-shirt.)


DSC_0231

I didn’t plan on racing it, so I just chilled until the race started.


DSC_0234

And then we were off. . . .


DSC_0235

I started out running with Charity. We chatted and caught up on each other’s lives since we hadn’t seen each other since a year ago.

We ran the first 3 miles together at a comfortable 10 minute mile pace. Since I wasn’t racing it, I wasn’t concerned about my time. It was just fun running with a friend!


DSC_0236

After mile 3, Charity stopped to walk, and I continued to run.

I was feeling good, so I picked up the pace for the last 2 miles.

Mile 4 – 7:30

Mile 5 – 7:15

Total time – 44:41 (unofficial—this was according to my watch)


DSC_0239

After the race, I got a chance to catch up with a couple of high school classmates, which was fun! I can’t believe it has been 10 years since we graduated from high school!

I wanted to get a couple more miles in for the day, so I ran 2 more miles back home for a total of 7 miles today! I think I’m on the road to recovery from the marathon!

12 responses to “Freedom Run

  1. Awesome! Sometimes last minute decisions are the most fun. A few weeks ago we decided to go.camping at 10 on sat morning and were in our tent by 9pm!

    • That’s why I didn’t get a t-shirt. . .they weren’t that cute. Plus I can’t wear t-shirts in Alaska because I’d get too cold.

  2. Great time! That price cannot be beat at all! I’d love catching up with people at those kinds of events, normally I’m the only one I know running.

Leave a Reply

