Kenai River Marathon Relay 2011

Running relays are so much fun!

If you have never run a relay, you definitely need to!! Even my husband—who is not much of a runner—enjoyed himself! 🙂

Team: Snot Rockets


DSC_0164

(L-R: Greg, Katie, me (Michelle), and Craig)

On Saturday, Craig and I drove down to Kenai, Alaska to run the Kenai River Marathon Relay.


DSC_0186

It was a gorgeous drive down there, but there is NO green left on our trees here. And with a temperature of 35* this morning, it reminds me winter is all too close!

DSC_0188

The race started Sunday morning at the Kenai Visitor’s Center.


DSC_0018

There were 4 people on our relay team, working together to run 26.2 miles.

Even Craig committed to running a leg! I don’t think he knew what he was getting himself into!

DSC_0002

Greg was our first runner, running 5.7 miles.


DSC_0004

We are pretty sure this was the smallest marathon ever! There was maybe 40 people at the start of the marathon and marathon relay!


DSC_0006

It was chilly at the start—only about 40*!

Ha! I love this photo of Greg. It looks like he is waving to all his fans!! 🙂


DSC_0013

We stopped at various places during Greg’s leg to cheer him on.


DSC_0025 DSC_0026

He average about 8-minute miles, which was awesome considering he hadn’t trained much!

DSC_0029 DSC_0030

Then it was time for Craig to get ready to run.

I don’t think that excited face lasted too long after he started running. 😕


DSC_0031

It was a gorgeous fall day. . . . crystal clear and beautiful scenes of the mountains in the background.


DSC_0033

Waiting for Greg to finish.

DSC_0035

Then it was Craig’s turn to run.

Craig actually ran the 2nd longest leg at 6.7 miles!! Go Babe!


DSC_0038

The classic thumbs up and open-mouth smile pose.

DSC_0043

Here he comes!

DSC_0044

I ran with Craig for a little while to give him a pep talking. I could see he was struggling, and he still had 3+ miles to go. 😕

DSC_0046

Almost done!

DSC_0050

Hand off to me.

DSC_0052

And I’m off!

DSC_0054

Woo! Hoo!! You finished, Craig!!

DSC_0055

And still smiling after he was done?!?! That’s always a good thing!

He should be smiling. . . he ran the ENTIRE way without stopping! With absolutely zero training! I’m impressed!

DSC_0057

This is me at the beginning of my 6.5 mile leg with a beautiful view of the mountain in the background!


DSC_0059

Through the tunnel.

DSC_0069

I felt pretty strong during my entire leg. I averaged about 7:20 minute miles.

I think this distance is my best distance. . . . something around a 10K.

DSC_0098

Then it was time to hand-off to our 4th and final runner: Katie.

DSC_0134

Katie ran 7.3 miles and is a Boston Marathon finisher!


DSC_0157

She got a whole bunch of “kills” (i.e. runners she overtook)!


DSC_0152

Going strong the whole way!


DSC_0159

Finish line. . . .

DSC_0163

Overall, our team’s time was 3:44.

I am so glad Craig ran with us! It was great sharing in the same hobby!

DSC_0168

After a shower and getting warm, dry clothes on, we went to St. Elias Brewery to get some grub.


DSC_0169

Pizza stone oven. I loved watching them make the pizzas!

DSC_0170

Fun, eclectic decor.

DSC_0172 DSC_0173

Craig and I split The Farmer’s Cobb salad, which was HUGE. I totally forgot to get a picture.

DSC_0174

We also split a Hawaiian pizza with caramelized onions.

Both the salad and pizza were very delicious! Some of the best food in this area of the state.

DSC_0176

Good times with friends!

DSC_0179

We had a couple of “only in Alaska moments” during our trip.

When I was pulling into a parking spot to pick up our bibs, I heard my car hit something and immediately thought I hit the curb. When I stepped out of my car, I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this huge moose bone laying on the ground!


DSC_0001

While I was running my leg of the race, Craig snapped these pictures of a dead moose being hauled away in this truck!

DSC_0075

I know it is kind of hard to see, but I can only imagine how crazy it looked. (I’m still not used to these things.)


DSC_0077

What a great weekend running with friends! It doesn’t get better than that! 😀

8 responses to “Kenai River Marathon Relay 2011

  1. Your photos are awesome!! Looks like a really great race and a great team!
    There’s not much better than going to eat a big meal at a brewery after a race. 🙂

  2. Congrats on your relay! I love all the faces Craig makes in his pics. You guys are such a fun and awesome couple especially to do this even together! 😀

  3. Woot woot! Go you guys! I am running a marathon relay on Sunday. They are SO fun…love love love it! No pressure, lots of friends! I’ll make sure to send you a link on Monday! : )

    Speaking of links…I thought about you this morning writing my post. I know you’re struggling with work stuff and that stinks! Anyhoo…here you go, just wanted to share!

    http://cueyourlife.com/2011/09/27/uncharted/

Leave a Reply

