Thankful Things Thursday

November is here and word “Thanksgiving” is started to be used a lot more.

I usually think about the time off from school and the food and family part of Thanksgiving before I think about what I’m thankful for.

So to get me (and hopefully you!) thinking about the things I am thankful for in my life, I am doing my first installment of Thankful Things Thursday.

I actually got this idea from Ali did over at Ali on the Run who has a Thankful Things Thursday post each Thursday.

~~~~~~~

Things I am thankful for:

1.) My health, wellness, and ability to run.

There was a period of time when I was not able to run (comfortably) for 2.5 years, and it KILLED me!

During this time, I made it my goal to one day be able to run 10 miles, and I am so happy to report that I have well surpassed that distance several times!

Through that experience though, I have come to appreciate all my body is able to do. Even on the days when I’m running 10:30 minutes/mile, I still am SO thankful for my legs and breath that are able to carry me through the miles.


DSC_0167

2.) My family.

Even though all of my family (except my husband’s family) live 3000-4000 miles away, they are wonderful about calling, sending e-mails, and real mail!

I feel so loved and supported even though we don’t see each other more than 1-2 times a year.

3.) My husband.

I am very blessed to be married to a God-fearing man who loves me more than I ever imagined. Plus he always knows how to make me laugh and smile, which is so important.


IMG_0144

4.) Massages.

Yesterday after school I got an hour-long massage for all my incredibly tight muscles. (I don’t think I have a muscle that isn’t tight!) My massage therapist used a technique called Active Release that seemed to really loosen up my tight muscles from running.

(I’m also very thankful for my insurance that pays for these visits!)

DSC_0022

5.) Going out to dinner for Craig’s birthday.

It has been a while since we have gone out for dinner, so I am particularly excited about enjoying a nice sit-down dinner with my husband and the birthday boy tonight!

~~~~~~~

Question

What are you thankful for?

12 responses to “Thankful Things Thursday

    • Yeah! The chiropractor has to “prescribe” it for me, and then insurance covers it. If you have chiropractic coverage, you might be able to get massage therapy as well??

  1. I just got Scott and myself hour long massages thanks for a LivingSocial deal. I am SO excited. It’s been ages since I had a pro massage. I love this post and you two are a ridiculously cute couple! 🙂 I’m thankful I found your blog!

  2. I know I’m late, but I like your new hair color. 🙂 I’m thankful that I’m able to run, no matter how slowly; for family and friends who put up with all my weird habits; and for my job/being able to work with people that I genuinely like.

  3. I am thankful for so much:

    God who saved me
    my family
    my friends

    Hey maybe you should do a thankful diary my friend does it when she is going through some tough times.

    Sue

Leave a Reply

