In My Element

Being in my element makes me feel so comfortable and so “at home.”

After a long day of teaching and feeling like I was on a stage all day, I went out for a run Tuesday night. As soon as I got in my groove, the stressors of life were lifted off my chest and I instantly felt as if everything in the world was right. I was instantly reminded how much running makes me feel “in my element.” I love it. I love everything about it!

– I don’t have to talk to anyone else. (I’m an introverted person.)

– I love being outdoors. (I pretty much refuse to run inside or on the treadmill.)

– I can get lost in my own thoughts and zone out.

– I love breaking a good sweat and pushing myself to run hard.

I can’t express how refreshing this run was for me! It was everything I needed after a stressful day!

~~~~~~~~~~~

I have to admit that my meals lately have been less than exciting. I’ve been trying to eat up random food in the fridge, so it has been a lot of broccoli, carrot sticks, watermelon, and nut butter on bread. (Not picture-worthy.)

I really enjoy trying new foods, and lately I’ve been trying to incorporate different kinds of grains in my diet rather than just rice or pasta. A while back I used Israeli Couscous in an awesome dish, and then over the weekend, I cooked up some pearled barley.

Overall, the pearled barley is chewier than rice but has a nuttier flavor to it. I wasn’t that I disliked the pearled barley, but it wasn’t my favorite either.

Running

After running just a few miles at the beginning of the week and taking Wednesday off from running all together, I decided to give my arch a try on a 5 mile run this morning. I was very hopeful and optimistic it had healed by now–I mean, it has been 2 weeks since it started hurting.

As I started out on an incredibly dark and foggy morning, I was loving the opportunity to be out running at 6:00 in the morning. I’ve missed my morning runs! I was feeling great and the miles were clicking by easily, but with a mile left to go, I could feel the pain in my right arch creeping back. GRRRR!!!! I don’t need this right now. I’ve been really stressed out with work; can’t I at least have my running back?

When I got back home, I took my training log book out to see how many miles were on my shoes. When I did the math, I realized that my current shoes had over 500 miles on them! Whoops! Usually I am really good about replacing my shoes. I am not 100% sure this is the reason for my arch pain, but only a new pair of shoes will help determine that. Thankfully, I ordered a new pair of shoes over the weekend, so they should be here any day!

Breakfast

This morning a hot, steamy bowl of oatmeal was calling my name.

I am really bummed the sun doesn’t rise until 30 minutes after my breakfast is consumed, so no more outdoor photos. 😦 It might be time to invest in a SLR camera seeing my little point and shoot doesn’t take the best indoor photos.

I think I’m getting a little burnt out on oatmeal. Half way through this bowl, I was ready to be done with it.

This tends to happen quite a bit in my diet. I find something I like, eat it a lot, and then get sick of it for a while before incorporating it back in my diet. I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing–I like change in my life, so it is now time to find something else to eat for breakfast. I’m okay with that.

One response to “In My Element

  1. Pingback: Stressors « The Runner's Plate·

Leave a comment