Crock Pot Magic

As soon as I walked through the front door after work tonight, dinner was already cooked and ready to be eaten!

Chicken Tortilla Soup was a cookin’ away all day while I played worked.

I have to admit, this was only the second time I’ve used our crock pot. (The first time I made steel cut oats overnight, but they didn’t turn out quite right.)

I think this baby will be getting much more use now!

Before I could taste-test the soup though, I had some a runnin’ to do. I ran 5 miles at a moderate pace. This will be my last run before my half-marathon on Saturday.

My afternoon snack was going to be some trail mix, but as I was opening the container, two-thirds of it spilled out! 😦 This was all I had to eat, so I was hopeful it would hold me over during my run.

soynuts + peanuts + cashews + dried cranberries + raisins + carob nibs

As soon as I got back from running, I went to pick up my bib for the Zombie Half-Marathon on Saturday.

Finally it was time to try the soup!

This soup was a success! It was flavorful, and I loved all the different ingredients. The only thing I would change would be to reduce the amount of water. I like hearty soups!

Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla Soup

(Based off this recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups shredded, cooked chicken
  • 1 can (15 oz.) whole peeled tomatoes, mashed
  • 1 can (10 oz.) red enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 can (4 oz.) chopped green chile peppers
  • 1 can (15.5 oz.) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried cilantro
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 cup frozen corn

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients in slow cooker and stir to combine. Cook on low for 8 hours. (I cooked mine for 9 hours and everything was still okay.)
  2. Top with optional ingredients: tortilla chips, cheddar cheese, lime, and/or cilantro.

A little ice cream and apple crisp for the sweet tooth.Question

What is your favorite thing to make in the crock pot?

12 responses to “Crock Pot Magic

  1. Funny, we were just talking about crockpots yesterday – and I had to confess I’ve never had one or tried cooking with one. I think maybe it requires more advance planning than I like to do? Or maybe it’s that no one ever gave us one when we got married! Your soup sure does look good though!

  2. That soup looks delish Michelle! I’ll have to try that recipe since I’ve been in the soup-making mood ever since fall arrived.

    My favorite thing to make in the crockpot is definitely chili. The scent of rich spice permeates the whole house and makes me crave a big, hearty bowl with a side of homemade cornbread drizzled in honey. YUM!

  3. Pingback: Soup Fanatic « The Runner's Plate·

Leave a comment